Landshold - Japan - Herrelandshold - Thomas Cu

Indonesia and Japan are top-seeded for Thomas & Uber Cup

marts 5, 2020 4:05 Published by

Written by BWF

Indonesia’s preparations to recapture the Thomas Cup received a boost as they were named top seeds for the upcoming TOTAL BWF Thomas & Uber Cup Finals in Aarhus, to be held 16-24 May 2020.


The 13-time winners last won the Thomas Cup in 2002. They reached two more finals since then, but fell in 2010 to China and in 2016 to Denmark.

Click here to get your ticket for the TOTAL BWF Thomas & Uber Cup 2020 i Aarhus, Denmark

The seedings are based on the cumulative individual ranking points of the team’s top three men’s singles players and top two men’s doubles pairs as of 3 March 2020. Indonesia had total points of 406,902 thanks to their top three men’s singles players — Anthony Sinisuka Ginting (78,332), Jonatan Christie (74,590) and Shesar Hiren Rhustavito (47,770) – and top two doubles pairs – Marcus Fernaldi Gideon/Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo (104,453) and Mohammad Ahsan/Hendra Setiawan (101,757).

Japan, runners-up at the last edition, are seeded second (total points: 374,262), while China (329,458) and Denmark (307,872) are 3/4 seeds.

Chinese Taipei, India, Malaysia and Korea are 5/8 seeds, while Thailand, England, Germany, Canada, France, Netherlands, Australia and Algeria are 9/16 seeds.

In the Women’s World Team Championships for the Uber Cup, defending champions Japan have the highest cumulative ranking points (415,681) and are top-seeded. Japan could count on women’s singles players Akane Yamaguchi (89,020), Nozomi Okuhara (87,186) and Sayaka Takahashi (54,734), and women’s doubles pairs Mayu Matsumoto/Wakana Nagahara (93,233) and Yuki Fukushima/Sayaka Hirota (91,508).

Fourteen-time winners China (392,184) are seeded second, while Korea (327,399) and Thailand (286,102) are seeded 3/4.

Indonesia, Chinese Taipei, India and Denmark are seeded 5/8, followed by Malaysia, Canada, France, Germany, Spain, Australia, Egypt and Scotland who are all seeded 9/16.

The 16 teams in each competition will be drawn into four groups; the top two teams of each group following the group stage will enter the knockout rounds.

Click here to see the seeding list